Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Call for papers

Conference
Networks, Museums and Collections. Surrealism in the United States

27-29 November 2017
Before June, 30, 2017

Centre Allemand d’Histoire de l’Art
45, rue des Petits Champs
75001 Paris
Metro: Pyramides (lines 7 & 14)


The conference Networks, Museums and Collections. Surrealism in the United States will bring both these complex networks and the reception of surrealism in America into academic focus. Who – collectors, critics, dealers, galleries, and other types of mediating agents – supported the artists in the Surrealist orbit, in what ways and why? What more can be learned about high profile collectors such as the Arensbergs in Los Angeles or Peggy Guggenheim in New York? Compared to their peers in Europe, did artists in the United States use similarly spectacular strategies of publicity and mediation?


Abstracts of 300 words are to be sent before 30 June 2017 in English, French or German, along with a CV to: Julia Drost (jdrost@dfk-paris.org); Fabrice Flahutez (flahutez@gmail.com), Anne Helmreich (A.Helmreich@tcu.edu), Susan Power (susanlpower75@gmail.com) and Martin Schieder (schieder@uni-leipzig.de).

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Appel à communications

Colloque
Réseaux, musées et collections, le surréalisme aux États-Unis

27-29 novembre 2017
Abstracts à envoyer avant le 30 juin 2017

Centre Allemand d’Histoire de l’Art
45, rue des Petits Champs
75001 Paris
Métro : Pyramides (lignes 7 et 14)


Le colloque "Réseaux, musées et collections. Le surréalisme aux États-Unis" permettra d’unir l’étude de ces réseaux complexes à celle de la réception du surréalisme aux États-Unis. Qui – que ce soit les collectionneurs, critiques, marchands, galeristes, ou d’autres types de médiateurs – soutinrent les artistes qui évoluaient dans l’orbite du surréalisme, de quelles façons et pourquoi ? Que reste-t-il à apprendre au sujet des grands collectionneurs que furent, par exemple, les Arensberg à Los Angeles, ou Peggy Guggenheim à New York ? Comparativement à leurs pairs en Europe, les artistes utilisèrent-ils de la même façon, aux États-Unis, des stratégies spectaculaires de publicité et de médiation ?


Les abstracts de 300 mots (en français, anglais ou allemand) devront être envoyés avant le 30 juin 2017, accompagnés d’un CV, à : Julia Drost (jdrost@dfk-paris.org) ; Fabrice Flahutez (flahutez@gmail.com), Anne Helmreich (A.Helmreich@tcu.edu), Susan Power (susanlpower75@gmail.com) and Martin Schieder (schieder@uni-leipzig.de).

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre