Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Call for papers
On the Inhabitability of Cartographic Worlds

International symposium
Worlds, Interfaces and Environments in the Digital Era

December 11, 12 & 13, 2017
Submission deadline : October 1st, 2017

University of Paris 8, Saint-Denis, France
Archives nationales, Pierrefitte, France


This international and transdisciplinary symposium has been organized as part of the pluriannual project “Worlds, Interfaces and Environments in the Digital Era” endorsed by Labex Arts-H2H in partnership with Archives Nationales and EnsAD.


Explorers have built their dreams upon the failings of maps. Some of those failings have been the objects of cartographic quests over decades and they now fall under the realm of fiction. They have searched for the remains of Noah’s Ark, the Eldorado, Terra Australis or the canals on Mars. If explorers have spent their lives striving to map out blanks, we for one spend ours caught within cartographic modes of being that we literally feed with our data and optimize through our travels and exchanges. The time of screens has no doubt entailed a massive and extraordinarily diverse use of maps: geographic maps of all sorts of scales and uses, data visualization maps, maps of our brains. Why maps in the end? Why such a multiplication of maps on our devices? What for and to what extent do they change our ways of thinking and our sensitivity? Such multiple and various uses combine with the quest for new and innovative modes for the appropriation of cartographic data in technical, cultural, patrimonial and memory-related fields. Those who produce such maps and those who are in charge of their conservation through time, archivists namely, pursue the same quest. The latter sometimes act toward the promotion, the study and the scientific and artistic valorization of old documents, be they “beautiful” or not, abstruse or transparent, often bearing a charge that is as much symbolic and poetic as fraught with History.


Are we incorporated within the map as much as we incorporate the data contained within the map? When we bring it close to our sensory organs (eyes, skin, ears), does cartography become a second skin? Does it stand for an operable and alternative Earth whose materials computed by algorithms and sought after by companies who strive to fashion the way we represent the world are worth gallons of gold? To the extent that it would seem nothing stands outside of the map any longer. What is left of what used to be outside? What is left, then, of our relationship to concrete expanses insofar as such an endeavor consists in abstracting ourselves from the world? In other words, does a topographic approach amount to obliterating the world, or at least to reducing it to a mere locus as opposed to a matrix (topos vs. khôra)? Should we then follow Augustin Berque in thinking that “such spatialization has muted the song of the world. […] It has congealed its poem, emptying it out of its poetry?” Or is it quite the reverse with the advent of new (technical) modes of producing possible worlds, which would constitute a new way of inhabiting the flows? Where are the dead angles and the white zones located on our maps? Do invisible spaces still exist? What can resist the captures of the totality of the informational landscape? Where lies what cannot be mapped? The irreducible?


Please submit your abstracts via EasyChair (link below) as well as a brief bio-bibliographical note before October 1st, 2017 : https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=mapping2017
Do not forget to upload your abstract in PDF format (no more than 500 words). The working languages of the symposium will be French and English. Contributions may be submitted in either language and should not exceed 500 words.


The scientific committee will make its decision public before October 10, 2017. For further information, you may write to mapping@univ-paris8.fr
Organizers : Pierre Cassou-Noguès (Paris 8), Lucile Haute (Université de Nîmes), Arnaud Regnauld (Paris 8), François Sebbah (Paris 10), Gwenola Wagon (Paris 8).
Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Appel à communications
Habitabilité des mondes cartographiques

Colloque international
Mondes, interfaces et environnements à l’ère du numérique

11-12 et 13 décembre 2017
Propositions à envoyer avant le 1er octobre 2017

Université Paris 8, Saint-Denis, France
Archives nationales, Pierrefitte, France


Colloque international et transdisciplinaire organisé en partenariat avec les Archives Nationales et l’EnsAD dans le cadre du projet « Mondes, interfaces et environnements à l’ère du numérique » soutenu par le Labex Arts-H2H les 11-12 et 13 décembre 2017.


Les explorateurs ont bâti leurs rêves sur les manques à combler des cartes. Certains manques, ont fait l’objet de quêtes cartographiques durant des décennies qui relèvent aujourd’hui de la fiction. Ainsi on a cherché les traces du déluge de Noé, l’El Dorado, la Terra Australis ou encore les canaux de Mars. Si les explorateurs ont passé leur vie à cartographier, nous passons nos vies dans des modalités cartographiques que nous nourrissons littéralement de nos données et optimisons de par nos déplacements et nos échanges. Il ne fait pas de doute que l’ère des écrans a engendré un usage massif et extraordinairement divers des cartes : cartes géographiques, de toutes sorte d’échelles et d’usages, cartes de visualisation des données, cartes du cerveau. Cette multiplication et cette diversité d’usage se conjuguent à la recherche de modes d’appropriation des données cartographiées innovants, dans les domaines techniques comme culturels, patrimoniaux et mémoriels. Cette recherche est poursuivie autant par les producteurs actuels de cartes que par les responsables de leur conservation à travers le temps, tels que les archivistes, ces acteurs agissant parfois ensemble pour promouvoir, grâce à de nouvelles approches transdisciplinaires, l’étude et la valorisation, scientifique comme artistique, de documents anciens, « beaux « ou moins « beaux », abscons ou limpides, porteurs souvent autant de symboles et de poésie que d’Histoire.


Pourquoi des cartes alors ? Pourquoi la multiplication des cartes sur nos appareils, quels en sont les usages, en quoi modifient-elles notre pensée et notre sensibilité ? Sommes-nous incorporés dans la carte autant que nous incorporons les données de la carte ? Si nous la portons au plus proche de nos organes (œil, peau et oreille), la cartographie devient-elle une seconde peau ? Est-ce une – Seconde Terre - opérable – dont les matériaux algorithmisés pour la fabriquer sont l’or, traqué de compagnies qui cherchent à façonner les modalités de représentation du monde ? A tel point, qu’il semblerait que plus rien ne soit à l’extérieur. Que reste-il du dehors ? De fait, que reste-t-il de notre rapport à l’étendue concrète dès lors que cette démarche consiste à nous abstraire du monde ? En d’autres termes, l’approche topographique revient-elle à oblitérer le monde, ou du moins à le réduire à un lieu plutôt qu’à une matrice (topos contre chôra) ? Faut-il penser, dans le sillage d’Augustin Berque, que « cette spatialisation a fait taire le chant du monde. [Qu’]elle en a figé le poème, en le vidant de sa poésie » ? Ou bien est-ce tout à fait l’inverse, avec l’avènement de nouvelles modalités (techniques) de production de mondes possibles, lesquelles constitueraient une nouvelle façon d’habiter les flux ? Où sont les angles morts et les zones blanches des cartes ? Existent-ils encore des espaces invisibles ? Qu’est-ce qui résiste aux captures de l’ensemble du paysage informationnel ? Où réside l’in-cartographiable ? Où gît l’irréductible ?


Merci de soumettre vos propositions (500 mots maximum) ainsi qu’une brève présentation bio/bibliographique avant le 1er octobre 2017 en cliquant sur le lien suivant :
https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=mapping2017
N’oubliez pas de téléverser vos documents au format PDF sur le site. Les langues du colloque seront le français et l’anglais. Les contributions peuvent être proposées dans l’une ou l’autre langue accompagnées d’une brève présentation biographique de l’auteur.


Les contributeurs seront informés de la décision du comité scientifique le 10 octobre 2017 au plus tard. Pour tout autre renseignement, merci de nous contacter à l’adresse suivante : mapping@univ-paris8.fr
Organisateurs : Pierre Cassou-Noguès (Paris 8), Lucile Haute (Université de Nîmes), Arnaud Regnauld (Paris 8), François Sebbah (Paris 10), Gwenola Wagon (Paris 8).
Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre