Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

The criticism of technique

Symposium

Thursday, June 18th, 2015

University Paris 8
Room D001
2, rue de la liberté
93526 Saint-Denis

Metro: Saint-Denis Université (line 13)


This symposium aims at questioning technique in its relation to history, society and politics, or to what Castoriadis called the "socialhistorique". Through this questioning, our precise objective is to define the conditions enabling the development of a critical theory of technique, adjusted to the current situation and its innovation, especially because of the increasing importance of the digital in current technical and social organizations.


To do so, this symposium will favor two approaches, both indivisible thus to be distinguished if we want to clarify what is at stake in renewing or updating the "criticism of technique" project, preliminary carried out by major authors such as Heidegger, Marcuse, Habermas or Ellul – if we keep to the contemporary age


Free admission subjected to availability.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Critique de la technique

Colloque

Jeudi 18 juin 2015

Université Paris 8
Amphi D001
2, rue de la liberté
93526 Saint-Denis

Métro : Saint-Denis Université (ligne 13)


Ce colloque se propose d’interroger à nouveaux frais la technique dans son rapport à l’histoire, au social et au politique, ou à ce que Castoriadis nommait le « socialhistorique ». À travers cette interrogation, il s’agit plus précisément de déterminer les conditions permettant d’élaborer une théorie critique de la technique qui soit ajustée à la situation présente avec ce que celle-ci recèle de nouveau du fait, en particulier, de l’importance prise par le numérique au sein des dispositifs socio-techniques actuels.


Pour ce faire, le colloque privilégiera deux axes qui, tout en étant indissociables, peuvent être distingués si l’on veut préciser les enjeux liés au projet de renouvellement ou d’actualisation de la « critique de la technique », opérée de façon liminaire chez des auteurs majeurs comme Heidegger, Marcuse, Habermas ou Ellul – pour s’en tenir à la période contemporaine.


Entrée libre dans la limite des places disponibles

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre