Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Graphic design: giving form to history

Symposium

November 27-28, 2014

Centre Pompidou
Forum bas, grande salle
Place Georges-Pompidou
75004 Paris
Metro Châtelet, Rambuteau or Hôtel de Ville

EnsAD
Amphithéâtre Bachelier et Rodin
31 rue d’Ulm
75005 Paris
Metro Luxembourg or Censier-Daubenton

Free admission subject to availability


The symposium "Graphic design, giving form to history", aims at contributing to a reflection on how graphic design’s specific history is made. Thirty years after the first developments of this new subject, do we need to stand for the autonomy of graphic design and typography’s history? What relations does this specialized historiography maintain both with practices and research in other fields? Those questions will be a common theme for the two days of this symposium.


Participants: Gordon Bruce (USA) ; Christopher Burke (UK) ; EnsadLab Type (FR) ; Patricia Falguières (FR) ; Rémi Jimenes (FR) ; Olivier Lugon (CH) ; Rick Poynor (UK) ; Fred Smeijers (NL) ; Teal Triggs (UK) ; Alice Twemlow (USA) ; Gerard Unger (NL).


The participants, all from different backgrounds, though all contributed to enrich knowledge in the field of graphic design. They will bring perspective on those questions thanks to their research.


The symposium will be moderate by Patricia Falguières, historian and professor at the EHESS.


André Baldinger (graphic designer and professor at the EnsAD), Catherine de Smet (art historian and professor at the University Paris 8) and Philippe Millot (graphic designer and professort at the EnsAD) will be in charge of the scientific coordination.


The symposium "Graphic design, giving form to history, is co-produced by the Centre national des arts plastiques, the Centre Pompidou, the École nationale supérieure des arts décoratifs (EnsAD) and the Labex Arts-H2H. It is organized as part of the event "Graphisme en France 2014".

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Design graphique, les formes de l’histoire

Colloque

Les 27 et 28 novembre 2014

Centre Pompidou
Forum bas, grande salle
Place Georges-Pompidou
75004 Paris
Métro Châtelet, Rambuteau ou Hôtel de Ville

EnsAD
Amphithéâtre Bachelier et Rodin
31 rue d’Ulm
75005 Paris
Métro Luxembourg ou Censier-Daubenton

Entrée libre dans la limite des places disponibles.


Le colloque « Design graphique, les formes de l’histoire » veut contribuer à la réflexion sur la fabrique de l’histoire singulière du design graphique. Quelque trente ans après l’apparition des premiers signes de constitution de cette nouvelle discipline, importe-t-il, ou non, de défendre l’autonomie de l’histoire du graphisme et de la typographie ? Quelles relations cette historiographie spécialisée entretient-elle à la fois avec la pratique et avec la recherche dans d’autres champs ? Ces interrogations constitueront le fil rouge du programme des deux journées de ce colloque.


Avec la participation de : Gordon Bruce (USA) ; Christopher Burke (UK) ; EnsadLab Type (FR) ; Patricia Falguières (FR) ; Rémi Jimenes (FR) ; Olivier Lugon (CH) ; Rick Poynor (UK) ; Fred Smeijers (NL) ; Teal Triggs (UK) ; Alice Twemlow (USA) ; Gerard Unger (NL).


Les intervenants, issus d’horizons divers, ont en commun d’avoir tous contribué à enrichir la connaissance dans ce domaine. Ils apporteront, à partir de leurs recherches, un éclairage sur ces questions.


La modération du colloque est confiée à Patricia Falguières, historienne et enseignante à l’EHESS.


La coordination scientifique est assurée par André Baldinger, graphiste et enseignant à l’EnsAD, Catherine de Smet, historienne d’art et enseignante à Paris 8 et Philippe Millot, graphiste et enseignant à l’EnsAD.


Le colloque « Design graphique, les formes de l’histoire » est coproduit par le Centre national des arts plastiques, le Centre Pompidou, l’École nationale supérieure des arts décoratifs (EnsAD) et le Labex Arts-H2H. Il est proposé dans le cadre de la manifestation « Graphisme en France 2014 ».

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre