Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Digital humanities and technique’s criticism

Project leader: Benoît Lelong

The field of digital humanities has been so far ignored by technique’s criticism. History related to archives digitization, linguistics and literature related to automatic process of language, sociology and social networks, geography and geolocated databases... We could continue over and over to list these fields that have been transformed by digital technologies without critical approaches questioning practical, intellectual and institutional consequences.

These approaches, using same tools but dealing with different worlds (in companies for example) revealed effects that are missing from the support speeches: cognitive overload, reinforcement of inequalities, lack of recognition, cooperative withdrawal... Are digital humanities free from these effects? We will attempt to answer this question via a first exploratory, reflexive and programmatic work.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Humanités numériques et critique de la technique (HumaNumEst)

Porteur du projet : Benoît Lelong

Les humanités numériques forment un domaine ignoré jusqu’ici par la critique de la technique. L’histoire avec la numérisation des archives, la linguistique et la littérature avec le traitement automatique du langage, la sociologie et les graphes de réseaux sociaux en ligne, la géographie et les bases de données géolocalisées... On pourrait poursuivre à l’envi cette énumération des disciplines qui se sont vues bouleversées par les technologies numériques sans que les approches critiques en aient interrogé les conséquences pratiques, intellectuelles et institutionnelles.

Or ces approches, déployées sur les mêmes outils mais à propos d’autres univers (dans les entreprises par exemple) ont révélé des effets absents des discours d’accompagnement : surcharge cognitive, renforcement des inégalités, déficits de reconnaissance, désengagements coopératifs... Les humanités numériques en sont-elles exemptes ? Il s’agira de répondre par un premier travail exploratoire, réflexif et programmatique.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre