Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Questioning art criticism

Project leader:
Claire Fagnart

The project "Questioning criticism" follows the program of the same name initiated in 2012, through a closed seminar, one-day conferences and a symposium which proceedings will be published. We will focus on art criticism in contemporary art and we will question the suppositions according to which critical thought is constructed. What makes art criticism possible nowadays and what makes traditional criticism valid, are essential issues in contemporary art criticism.

We will focus on expanding the subject to new categories (comprehension, activation, promoting artworks, from a criticism of artworks to a criticism of exhibitions, relation criticism/institutions, etc.) After a first stage (2012) dedicated to defining criticism and starting a typology of its practices, the 2013-2014 program aims to summarize all French and international research on the subject, through a symposium taking place in 2013 and published in 2014.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

La critique d’art en question

Porteur du projet :
Claire Fagnart

Le projet « La critique en question » poursuit le programme du même nom initié en 2012, au travers d’un séminaire fermé, de journées d’étude et d’un colloque publiés. Une attention particulière est accordée à la critique d’art dans le champ de l’art contemporain : il s’agit notamment d’interroger les présupposés sur lesquels les discours critiques se construisent. Les conditions de possibilité actuelle de la critique d’art, la validité des critiques traditionnelles, en sont un enjeu central.

Il s’agira d’élargir la réflexion sur le sujet à de nouvelles catégories (compréhension, activation, valorisation des œuvres, passage de la critique des œuvres à la critique d’exposition, relation de la critique aux institutions, etc.). Après une première phase (2012) consacrée à la question des définitions de la critique et à une ébauche de typologie de ses pratiques, le programme de 2013-2014 vise à synthétiser les recherches tant françaises qu’internationales sur la question au travers d’un colloque qui aura lieu à l’automne 2013 et sera publié en 2014.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre