Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

War in performance

Project leader:
Martin Mégevand

In collaboration with:
University of Westminster

On the occasion World War I’s centenary, we will gather English and French researchers around the subject of artistic practices related to the experience of historical violences. The project will study artistic performances of the period 1916-1930 in their relation to World War I, an approach quite new in the field of social sciences.

Following the celebrations commemorating World War I’s centenary, this project will organize two international symposiums which will take place in Paris (2014) and London (2016). An approach of the relations between artistic creation and historical violences that is different from all the works on testimony and representation : a focus on the approach of performance, an object very well explored as part of Performance Studies in the United-States and in Britain and which is progressing in France since the 2000s.

For our first symposium entitled "War in Performance in Literary Creation", researchers from various fields amongst literature and humanities will be gathered and will propose to think about modalities of updating a war experience through art or literature. Practitioners or performance and art therapy will also be invited to participate.

The second symposium entitled "The Great War in Performance (1916-1930)" will take place in autumn 2016, one hundred years after French and English civil societies became aware of how singular were the Great War and its massacres. The interventions will be focused on artistic performances directly related to World War I.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

La guerre en performance

Porteur du projet :
Martin Mégevand

En collaboration avec :
University of Westminster

À l’occasion du centenaire de la Première Guerre mondiale, il s’agit de rassembler des chercheurs anglophones et francophones autour de la pensée des liens entre les pratiques artistiques et l’expérience des violences historiques. Le point d’application proposé, en raison de sa nouveauté dans le champ des Sciences humaines et sociales, est l’étude de la Performance artistique des années 1916-1930 dans ses rapports avec la catastrophe de la Première Guerre mondiale.

À la faveur des célébrations commémorant le centenaire de la première Guerre mondiale, il s’agit de proposer, par deux colloques internationaux qui se tiendront à Paris (2014) et à Londres (2016), une approche des rapports entre la création artistique et les violences historiques qui se distingue des travaux - abondants - portant sur le témoignage et sur la représentation pour se concentrer sur le concept de performance, objet bien exploré dans le cadre des Performance Studies aux Etats-Unis et en Grande Bretagne, et dont l’étude est en nette progression en France depuis les années 2000.

Pour le premier colloque, qui s’intitulera« La guerre en performance dans la création
littéraire » / War in Performance in Literary Creation, il s’agira de rassembler des chercheurs de diverses disciplines relevant des Lettres et sciences humaines qui proposeront une réflexion sur les modalités de réactualisation d’une expérience de guerre par le biais de l’art ou de la littérature. Des praticiens de la performance et de l’Art Thérapie seront également invités à participer.

Le second colloque, qui s’intitulera La Grande Guerre en performance (1916-1930) / The Great War in Performance (1916-1930), est prévu à l’automne 2016, cent ans après les premières prises de conscience de l’ampleur des massacres et de la singularité de la Grande Guerre dans la société civile en France et en Angleterre. Sa portée sera plus restreinte sur le plan historique, et les communications seront articulées autour des performances artistiques directement liées à la Première Guerre mondiale, prioritairement de celles nées durant la Grande Guerre et dans les années qui l’ont suivie.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre