Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Photography as a weapon

Documentary and social photography in the 1930s

Friday, March 25, 2016

INHA
room Vasari
2, rue Vivienne
75002 Paris

Metro: Bourse (line 3)


The engagement of photographers in revolutionary political and cultural structures in the 1930s remains a gray area of the history of photography and illustrated press. It was indeed outshined by the notion of "humanist photography" created in the post-war period to describe the popular optimism characteristic of the "Trente Glorieuses". Thus social and documentary photographs of the post-war period were often considered as signs of the humanist look that will later be mature enough.


For many photographers such as Claude Cahun, Eli Lotar, Pierre Jamet, Loré Krüger, Germaine Krull, Tracol, André Papillon, René Zuber, Henri Cartier-Bresson or Willy Ronis, photography yet remained the ultimate democratic medium. These photographers worked for the communist illustrated press (Regards, L’Humanité, Ce Soir) and enlisted in the Association des Écrivains et Artistes Révolutionnaires (AEAR) created by Paul Vaillant-Couturier in 1932.


Through these structures, in different media and during different exhibitions organized by the AEAR, they defended a political vision of their work, considering photography is a "weapon of class". Some of them published calls and organized images collection and photography contests for amateur workers. Some other then created the first independent cooperative of photographers.


But when glorifying the figure of the engaged photographer, don’t we risk to fall into the biographic illusion and push the driving forceof collective structures into the background? When idealizing the communist visual culture, don’t we risk to slowly erase the aesthetic and political tensions of a movement both rich and contrasting?

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

La photographie comme arme

Photographie sociale et documentaires dans les années 1930

Vendredi 25 mars 2016

INHA
salle Vasari
2, rue Vivienne
75002 Paris

Métro : Bourse (ligne 3)


L’engagement des photographes dans les structures politiques et culturelles de la gauche révolutionnaire des années 1930 est aujourd’hui encore une zone d’ombre de l’histoire de la photographie et de la presse illustrée. Il a été en effet longtemps éclipsé par la notion de « photographie humaniste » forgée dans l’après-guerre pour décrire l’optimisme populaire qui caractérisait la production visuelle des Trente Glorieuses. Aussi a-t-on souvent considéré les photographies sociales et documentaires de l’entre-deux-guerres comme les prémices du regard humaniste arrivé plus tard à maturité.


Pour de nombreux photographes comme Claude Cahun, Eli Lotar, Pierre Jamet, Loré Krüger, Germaine Krull, Tracol, André Papillon, René Zuber, Henri Cartier-Bresson ou Willy Ronis, la photographie représentait pourtant le médium démocratique par excellence. Ces photographes travaillaient pour la presse illustrée communiste (Regards, L’Humanité, Ce Soir) et s’engagèrent dans l’Association des Écrivains et Artistes Révolutionnaires (AEAR) créée par Paul Vaillant-Couturier en 1932.


Par le biais de ces structures, dans les différents médias et au cours des différentes expositions organisées par l’AEAR, ils défendaient une vision politique de leur activité, considérant la photographie comme une « arme de classe ». Certains d’entre eux publièrent des appels aux amateurs et organisèrent des collectes d’images et des concours d’amateurs photographes ouvriers ; d’autres fondèrent bientôt les premières coopératives indépendantes de photographes.


Mais à glorifier la figure du photographe engagé, ne risque-t-on pas de tomber dans l’illusion biographique et de mettre au second plan l’action motrice des structures collectives ? A brosser l’idéal type de la culture visuelle communiste, ne risque-t-on pas non plus d’oblitérer les tensions tant esthétiques que politiques d’un mouvement aussi riche que contrasté ?

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre