Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

The infinite body

Project leader: Claire Bras

In collaboration with:
Académie Fratellini
Compagnie Ki Productions

The project is situated between an organic universe and a technological universe. Research focuses on the experience of weightlessness movements, through the body of an air acrobat. It combines circus, image, sound, digital and textile creation around the body as a medium in order to question the relations between a real body/projected body.

An immersive environment will reproduce the conditions similar to zero gravity perception. The image, vehicle for memory and senses, will be combined to proprioceptive modifications induced by shift of the viewpoint, causing the loss of gravitational point of reference, a viewpoint dispersed in the circular space, the sound spatialization increasing the effect of internal movements.

An experimental set will question image & sound positionning, interaction, relation between the device, the acrobat’s body and the spectator. The aim is to create a new real-time perception of the weightless body in the circus’ scenic space.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Le corps infini

Porteur du projet : Claire Bras & Kitsou Dubois

En collaboration avec :
Académie Fratellini
Compagnie Ki production – accompagnement La Magnanerie

Le projet se situe entre un univers technologique et organique. La recherche porte sur l’expérience du mouvement en l’absence de gravité, restituée à travers le corps d’un circassien aérien. Elle associe cirque, image, son, création numérique et textile autour du corps comme médium afin de questionner les relations corps réel et projeté.

Un environnement immersif restituera un milieu analogue à la perception en gravité zéro. L’image, vecteur sensoriel et mémoriel, s’associera aux modifications proprioceptives par le basculement du point de vue, provoquant la perte du repère gravitaire, le point de vue dispersé dans l’espace circulaire et la spatialisation du son augmentant l’effet initié par les mouvements internes.

Un plateau expérimental questionnera la disposition image et son, l’interaction, la relation du dispositif avec le corps du circassien et du spectateur . L’objectif est créer en temps réel une perception inédite du corps en apesanteur dans l’espace scénique du cirque.


Site web
Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre