Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

The panorama: a misleading art

Symposium

12-13 February 2016

MuCEM
I2MP (Institut méditerranéen des métiers du Patrimoine)
Fort Saint-Jean
201, Quai du Port
13002 Marseille


The exhibition "I Love Panoramas", result of a collaboration between the Museum of Arts & History of Geneva and the MuCEM in Marseille, seeks to show how the notion of panorama goes beyond common categories of representation: fine arts, contemporary art, photography, cinema, industry... The panoramic experience came from military and scientific logics, before being monopolized by performing arts, and questions our relation to the world or the landscape, known or unknown, mass tourism, the consumption of opinions, the image as an entertainment source.


From the first panorama drawing filed by Robert Fulton at the National Institute for Intellectual Property in Paris in 1799, to the 360° room for all colours of Olafur Eliasson in 2002, the exhibition proposes a large chronological range of examples. By gathering works from Jeff Wall, Peter Greenaway, David Hockney, Vincent Van Gogh, Gustave Courbet, Gerhard Richter, Jan Dibbets, François Morellet, Ellsworth Kelly… it underlines the variety of artistic works influenced by the notion of panorama. Through photographic surveys of the Alps, of battlefields, wallpapers, postcards or films, registers, mediums and universes mingle and renew the way we see the world and the place of the spectator.


This symposium will gather the actors of the exhibition "I Love Panoramas" (curators, members of the scientific board) and researchers (visual studies, history, literature, art history, cinema history, media studies...), and several members of the projet "Misleading Arts. Machines, Magic, Media", who will attempt to renew the definition and notion of panorama through recent experiences and research.


On one hand, a visit of the exhibition will enable the organizers to think about the way the museums in Geneva and Marseille, handled the artwork form. On the other hand, historical, cultural, literary and artistic issues will go beyond the exhibition, based on precise artworks and taking into account the notion of "panoramic literature" as Walter Benjamin defined it, and the multiple expressions of panoramic culture in 19th-century printed media.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Le panorama, un art trompeur

Colloque

12-13 février 2016

MuCEM
I2MP (Institut méditerranéen des métiers du Patrimoine)
Fort Saint-Jean
201, Quai du Port (entrée basse du Fort Saint-Jean)
13002 Marseille


L’exposition « J’aime les panoramas », fruit d’une étroite collaboration entre les Musées d’art et d’histoire de Genève et le MuCEM, à Marseille, cherche à montrer comment la notion de panorama dépasse les catégories habituelles de la représentation – beaux-arts, art contemporain, photographie, cinéma, industrie, pratiques amateur… Issue d’une logique scientifique et militaire avant d’être accaparée par la société du spectacle, l’expérience panoramique pose la question de notre rapport au monde ou au paysage, maîtrisé ou inconnu, au tourisme de masse, à la consommation de points de vue formatés, à l’image comme source de divertissement.


Du premier dessin de panorama déposé par Robert Fulton à l’Institut national de la propriété intellectuelle de Paris en 1799 à 360° room for all colours d’Olafur Eliasson de 2002, l’exposition propose un éventail chronologique large. En réunissant les œuvres de Jeff Wall, Peter Greenaway, David Hockney, Vincent Van Gogh, Gustave Courbet, Gerhard Richter, Jan Dibbets, François Morellet, Ellsworth Kelly… elle souligne la diversité des propositions artistiques influencées ou marquées par la notion de panorama. Des relevés photographiques des Alpes à ceux des champs de bataille en passant par les papiers peints, les cartes postales ou les films… les registres, les médiums et les univers se mélangent et renouvellent le regard que nous portons sur le monde et sur la fonction du spectateur.


L’objectif du colloque est de faire un état des lieux sur le sujet. Il rassemblera des acteurs de l’exposition J’aime les panoramas (commissaires, membres du conseil scientifique) et des chercheurs (en études visuelles, historiens, littéraires, historiens de l’art, historiens du cinéma, de la culture médiatique…), dont plusieurs sont membres du projets "Les arts trompeurs. Machines. Magie. Médias", qui peuvent renouveler la définition et la notion de panorama au regard d’expériences et de recherches récentes.


Parmi les pistes retenues, il s’agira d’une part de mener avec les organisateurs, et en lien avec une visite approfondie de l’exposition, une réflexion sur la façon dont les muséographies en ont abordé la mise en œuvre, tant à Genève qu’à Marseille. D’autre part, il conviendra d’introduire des problématiques historiques, culturelles, littéraires et artistiques prolongeant l’exposition, en menant une réflexion diachronique, y compris à partir d’œuvres précises, et en prenant en compte la notion de "littérature panoramique", telle que Walter Benjamin l’a définie, et les multiples expressions de la culture panoramique dans les supports imprimés du XIXe siècle.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre