Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Media/mediums

Project leaders:
Gwenola Wagon
Jeff Guess

In collaboration with:
École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts Paris-Cergy and art gallery YGREC

The research project "Media Mediums" is based on the history of remote transmission and consists of two research subjects: first, a series of technical objects, machines and real or invented devices which all seek information transportation and, secondly, some phenomenon much more mysterious and less known, such as telepathy, telekinesis or teleportation.

The subject of our research is at a crossroads between several remote transmission media (semaphore, telegraph, telephone, television, etc.) and their futurist vision, between former media and media to come, inspired from science fiction and the occult (telephathy).

An exhibition will take place at the Espace YGREC (April-June 2014), in the form of an investigation and a release of a set of archives, stories, protocoles and various devices based on the transport of thought and intelligence through time and space : mesmerism, celestial telegraph, clairvoyance, television, ectoplasms, disembodied voices, suggestion, Martians, aether and fluids, ghosts, mind reading, information theory, telepathy, electronic voice phenomena, coded messages, etc. The exhibition will be interspersed on a regular basis with conferences, performances and demonstrations restarting the documents and materials gathered by the participants. A publication should be released in 2015.

**

A seminar with students from two courses "Communication protocols: technology and the spirit world" (Jeff Guess, ENSAPC) and "Histoires de Fantômes et de Machines” (Gwenola Wagon, Paris VIII) will hold conferences on telecommunications and spiritual sciences.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Média/médiums

Porteurs du projet :
Gwenola Wagon
Jeff Guess

En collaboration avec :
École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts Paris-Cergy et l’espace d’exposition YGREC

Le projet de recherche Média Médiums est axé sur l’histoire de la transmission à distance et comprend deux objets d’étude : premièrement, toute une série d’objets techniques, de machines et d’appareillages actualisés ou simplement imaginés qui ont comme principe fondateur le transport d’informations, et deuxièmement, des phénomènes beaucoup plus mystérieux et moins connus tels la télépathie, la télékinésie ou la téléportation.

L’objet de cette recherche se situe à la croisée d’une archéologie des médias de transmission à distance (sémaphore, télégraphe, téléphone, télévision, etc.) et de leur vision futuriste, entre médias passé et à venir, inspirés de la science-fiction et des sciences occultes (télépathie).

Une exposition aura lieu à l’Espace YGREC (avril-juin 2014). Elle se présentera comme une investigation et mise en circulation d’un ensemble d’archives, d’histoires, de protocoles et de dispositifs très divers axés sur le transport de la pensée et de l’intelligence à travers le temps et l’espace : mesmérisme, télégraphe céleste, clairvoyance, télévision, ectoplasmes, voix désincarnées, suggestion, martiens, aether et fluides, fantômes, mind reading, théorie de l’information, télépathie, electronic voice phenomena, messages codés etc. L’exposition sera ponctuée de manière régulière par des conférences, performances et démonstrations réactivant les documents et matériaux collectés par les participants. Une publication est prévue en 2015.

**

Un séminaire regroupant les étudiants des deux cours, « Communication protocols : technology and the spirit world » (Jeff Guess, ENSAPC) et « Histoires de Fantômes et de Machines » (Gwenola Wagon, Paris VIII) sera le lieu de conférences pointues sur les télécommunications et les sciences spirites.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre