Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Haunted media

Lectures/performances
Exhibition "Média Médiums"

Friday, May 16th 2014
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm

Espace Ygrec
20 rue Louise Weiss
75013 Paris
Metro Chevaleret/Bibliothèque François Mitterrand

Free admission


Following the research of the project Média Médiums and as part of the exhibition "Média Médiums", discover five conferences/performances based on the occult, ghosts, mind reading, telepathy, etc.


Weird science. A brief illustrated inventory of the technical inventions of parapsychology
The interest in the question of the occult for a certain fringe zone of the scientific community came to a head in 1848 following the accounts of the spirit phenomena of the Fox sisters. Table-turning and other paranormal experiences, which became wide-spread in the United States and Europe during the second half of the 19th century, pushed researchers to consider these unexplainable events as new objects for scientific experimentation.


In parallel to the numerous inventions which came into view at the beginning of the 20th century, a certain number of researchers attempted to produce tools and machines to analyse these phenomena in their laboratories. From the spirit telegraph to parapsychological applications for smartphone, the inventory of these often forgotten or little known technical objects allows a glimpse onto a possible technical history of parapsychology which we propose to retrace.


Technically Speaking
On occasion, Self-Sorting Documents is used as a performance tool, wherein a specific path is carved out of the mass. Voice acts as the interface, allowing interaction with the image archive, documents fleetingly moving in and out of view. Technically Speaking is one of those occasions.


Exhibition "Média Médiums", May 4th-31st 2014 at Espace Ygrec, Wednesday-Saturday 1:00 pm to 7:00 pm.


L’encéphaloscope
The utopia of the direct vision of thought at the turn of the century.
Using the whimsical short story, L’encéphaloscope published in 1900 by Kurd Lasswitz, one of the pioneers of science fiction in Germany, as a starting point, we will revisit one of the fantasms opened up by the discovery of X-Rays in 1895 – seeing, not only through the opacity of the body but directly into the cranium itself, in the absolute transparency of exchanges and the desire to free oneself from the obstacle that is mediation.


The Technical Delusion
Over the course of the twentieth-century, the "schizophrenic" gradually displaced the medium as the primary target of media hauntings. This talk presents a brief overview of schizophrenia as a "disease of information" and considers the historical braiding of psychosis, electronics, and media. How did "the media" become the primary antagonist in paranoid delusions and what does the ongoing proliferation of information technologies portend for the collective "sanity" of the world?

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

médias hantés

Conférences/performances
Exposition Média Médiums

Vendredi 16 mai 2014
De 18h à 21h30

Espace Ygrec
20 rue Louise Weiss
75013 Paris
Métro Chevaleret/Bibliothèque François Mittérand.

Entrée libre


Suite des investigations du projet Média Médiums, et toujours dans le cadre de l’exposition du même nom, découvrez cinq conférences/performances, toujours axées vers l’occulte, les fantômes, le mind reading, la télépathie, etc.


Weird science. Bref inventaire illustré des inventions techniques de la parapsychologie
L’intérêt d’une certaine frange de la communauté scientifique pour la question de l’occulte naît en 1848 avec le récit des phénomènes spirites observés chez les sœurs Fox. Les tables tournantes et autres expériences paranormales qui envahissent les États-Unis et l’Europe à partir de la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle poussent alors les savants à considérer ces faits inexpliqués comme des objets dignes de leurs expérimentations.


Parallèlement aux nombreuses inventions qui voient le jour au tournant du XXe siècle, un certain nombre de chercheurs vont tenter de concevoir des outils et des machines afin d’analyser dans leurs laboratoires ces phénomènes. Du télégraphe spirite aux applications parapsychologiques pour smartphone, l’inventaire de ces objets techniques oubliés ou méconnus semble ainsi délimiter une possible histoire technique de la parapsychologie qu’il s’agira de retracer brièvement.


Technically Speaking
Technically Speaking est une performance réactivant l’installation Self-Sorting Documents en proposant un trajet spécifique parmi une grande collection de documents. La voix devient l’interface qui permet d’interagir avec cette archive d’images et de mots clés et occasionne les apparitions et disparitions furtives des documents.


Exposition Média Médiums, du 4 au 31 mai 2014 à l’Espace Ygrec, du mercredi au samedi de 13h à 19h.


L’encéphaloscope
L’utopie de la vision directe des pensées au passage du siècle
A partir d’une petite nouvelle fantaisiste, intitulée "l’encéphaloscope", publiée en 1900 par Kurd Lasswitz, l’un des pionniers de la science fiction en Allemagne, nous reviendrons sur l’un des fantasmes activés par la découverte de la radiographie en 1895 - voir non seulement à travers les corps opaques mais à l’intérieur de la boite crânienne, dans la transparence absolue des échanges et le désir de s’affranchir de tout obstacle de la médiation.


The Technical Delusion
Au cours du XXe siècle, la cible privilégiée des "médias hantés" se déplace progressivement du médium au "schizophrénique". Cette conférence présentera une brève histoire de la schizophrénie comme « maladie de l’information » en considérant les croisements historique entre la psychose, l’électronique, et les médias. Comment « les médias » deviennent-t-ils antagonistes des délires paranoïaques ? Que présagerait la prolifération des technologies de l’information en regard de la santé mentale d’un monde globalisé ?

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre