Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Moments of (In)attention. On Suspended Temporality in the Works of Max Neuhaus

Tacet 04 - The Sounds of Utopia

Publication by Anne Zeitz


This research focuses on counterforms of attention and on the alternative temporalities that emerge from the works of the American artist Max Neuhaus (1939–2009). The article connects theories of attention as expressed by Jonathan Crary, Yves Citton, and Bernard Stiegler with Neuhaus’s work, in particular his Moment Pieces, on which he began work in the 1980s and which are among his last completed and permanently installed works.


Through the introduction of sounds at the outer limit of perception in urban spaces, in exhibition venues and the surrounding areas, and in parks and gardens, Neuhaus highlights the artistic and social stakes of the phenomena of attention and inattention and their connection with temporality.


Taking his works as a point of departure, this paper seeks to define a form of (in)attention—an attention located between concentration and distraction—as a perceptual state that eludes strategies targeting attention as a resource. The article proposes an analysis of the concepts of attention and temporality as interpreted by Neuhaus, who, thanks to his concepts and ideas, has exerted considerable influence on the field of sound art since the mid-twentieth century.


Buy here

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Moments d’(in)attention. De la temporalité suspendue chez Max Neuhaus

Tacet 04 - Sonorités de l’utopie

Article par Anne Zeitz


Cette recherche s’intéresse aux contre-formes d’attention et aux temporalités alternatives qui se dégagent des œuvres de l’artiste américain Max Neuhaus (1939-2009). L’article articule les théories d’attention, telles que formulées par Jonathan Crary, Yves Citton et Bernard Stiegler, avec les oeuvres de Neuhaus, en particulier ses Moment Pieces développées à partir des années 1980 qui font partie des dernières oeuvres réalisées et installées de façon permanente.


Par l’introduction de sonorités à la limite de la perception dans l’espace urbain, dans des lieux d’exposition et leurs environs, dans des parcs et des jardins, Neuhaus pointe les enjeux artistiques et sociaux des phénomènes d’attention et d’inattention et leur lien avec la temporalité.


À partir de ces œuvres, il s’agit de définir une forme d’(in)attention – une attention qui se situe entre la concentration et la distraction – comme état perceptuel qui échappe aux stratégies ciblant l’attention en tant que ressource. L’article propose d’analyser les notions d’attention et de temporalité, telles que les interprète Neuhaus qui, grâce à ses concepts et idées, a considérablement influencé le champ de l’art sonore depuis le milieu du XXe siècle.


Lien et achat ici

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre