Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Performing the law

Project leader:
Barbara Villez
In collaboration with:
Birkbeck College, University of London
University of California, Santa Barbara
Institut français du Royaume-Uni

The notion of performance is essential in justice (legal performance, attorney performing in court, performativity of a decision, etc.) as well as in art and acting ("performing arts" — theater, cinema, television).
Contemporary artists also question law, contracts, what a verbal transaction is worth, and use new ephemeral, even immaterial, forms such as installations or performances in order to consider justice and law in an experimental and offbeat way.

In 2012, this project gave rise to two events: a photo exhibition of Richard Ross’ work at the University of Paris Ouest, and a performance by two guest artists, Patrick Bernier and Oliver Martin, entitled "Plaidoirie pour une jurisprudence" and presented at the University of New-York in Paris.

In 2013, the project continued on the subject "From art to activism" with Richard Ross returning for a meeting with the documentary maker Yvonne Jewkes on images’ performativity.

The collaboration that started in 2013 with Birkbeck College’s departments goes on and is strengthened in 2014 with two conferences, in London from January 31st until February 1st. Thereafter, several events in Paris (and Nice) in 2015 will carry out the research on performance. Throughout the year, the seminar "Justice, images, langages, cultures" will demonstrate the progress of research in this field.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Performing the law

Porteur du projet :
Barbara Villez

En collaboration avec :
Birkbeck College, Université de Londres
Université de Californie, Santa Barbara
Institut français du Royaume-Uni

La notion de performance est centrale à la justice (performance judiciaire, performance de l’avocat au tribunal, performativité du jugement, etc) comme à l’art et au jeu d’acteur (les « performing arts » - art théâtral, cinéma, télévision).
Les artistes contemporains s’interrogent aussi beaucoup sur le droit, le contrat, la valeur de la transaction orale et utilisent des formes nouvelles, éphémères voire immatérielles, comme l’installation, la performance, pour apporter une réflexion expérimentale et décalée du droit et de la justice.

Ce projet a donné lieu en 2012 à deux événements : une exposition de photographie de Richard Ross à l’Université Paris Ouest, ainsi que la performance de deux artistes invités : Patrick Bernier et Olive Martin intitulée "Plaidoirie pour une jurisprudence", présentée à l’Université de New-York à Paris.

En 2013, le projet s’est poursuivi autour du thème "De l’art à l’activisme" avec le retour de Richard Ross pour une rencontre avec la documentariste britannique Yvonne Jewkes, sur la performativité des images.

La collaboration commencée en 2013 avec les différents départements de Birkbeck College se prolonge et se renforce en 2014 avec deux journées de présentations, de tables rondes et de discussions, à Londres du 31 janvier au 1er février. Par la suite, plusieurs évènements à Paris (et à Nice) en 2015 suivront le trajet de cette recherche sur la performance. Tout au long de l’année, le séminaire Justice, images, langages cultures, rend compte de l’avancée de la recherche dans ce domaine.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre