Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Records of the Comédie-Française

Project leader:
Christian Biet

In collaboration with:
Paris Sorbonne-CNRS
Comédie-Française
MIT
Harvard
NYU

This collaboration between France and the United States gambles on a relation between the competencies of technical and cultural institutions as well as institutions dealing with cultural heritage, and those of international universities.The project Records of the Comédie-Française aims at digitizing, analyzing and using the data found in the daily registers of the Comédie-Française between 1680 and 1793. Thanks to advanced visualization technology and statistical processing, the project will highlight exclusive and substantial pieces of French theater heritage. Two workshops, in Boston and Paris on spring 2014, will gather the "scientists" who will be able to present their first results.

The history of the Comédie-Française has often been variously studied and still shows a history frequently anecdotal and general, more about memory than science. We believe that it is time to develop a more detailed and precise approach, based on an exact understanding of what the life of the theater was, so that this unique theater institution can take possession of its own history/

Since 1680, every day, every season, revenues and expenses of all performances at the Comédie-Française are registered in accounting records. So much that we can learn, for each date, every play that were performed, the authors played, the number of members in the audience, where they were seated (as tickets are sorted by price): this is the register of revenues. In the expenses register, one can find out, for every performance: how much props cost (candles, feathers, objects, etc.), how much regular or non-regular people were paid. One can also find a list of the "feux" that is to say every actor performing in every performance, and the part he or she played.

**MIT website: HyperStudio

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Registres de la Comédie-Française

Porteur du projet :
Christian Biet

En collaboration avec :
Paris Sorbonne-CNRS
Comédie-Française
MIT
Harvard
NYU

Tissé entre la France et les États-Unis, ce partenariat fait le pari d’une mise en relation des compétences entre des institutions technologiques, culturelles, patrimoniales et universitaires internationales. Le projet Registres de la Comédie-Française a pour ambition la numérisation, l’analyse statistique et l’exploitation scientifique des données contenues dans les registres journaliers de la Comédie-Française entre 1680-1793. A partir des technologies de pointe en visualisation et de traitement statistique, il permettra de valoriser des fragments conséquents et inédits du patrimoine dramatique Français. Deux ateliers de travail réuniront, à Boston et Paris au printemps 2014, les participants « scientifiques » qui seront en mesure de présenter leurs premiers résultats.

L’histoire de la Comédie-Française a fait l’objet d’études variées, qui, depuis le dix-huitième siècle, donnent de ce théâtre une histoire, souvent anecdotique, et brossée à larges traits et souvent plus mémorielle que scientifique. Le moment est venu d’en établir une approche plus fine, plus précise, fondée sur une connaissance exacte de ce que fut sa vie afin de mettre ainsi cette institution théâtrale unique au monde en possession de son histoire.

Depuis 1680, jour par jour, saison par saison, les recettes et les dépenses de toutes les séances de la Comédie-Française sont consignées dans des registres comptables. Si bien qu’il est possible de savoir, pour chaque date, les œuvres qui ont été jouées, le nom des auteurs qu’on a joués, le nombre de spectateurs qui assistaient à la séance, leur places respectives (puisque les billets sont classés par prix) : ce sont là les livres de recettes. Dans les livres des dépenses, on trouvera, pour chaque séance, le prix des accessoires nécessaires aux représentations (bougies, chandelles, plumes, objets, etc.), le salaire des intervenants réguliers ou plus ou moins exceptionnels. On y retrouvera aussi répertorié les « feux », autrement dit le nom de chaque comédien jouant durant chaque séance, et le rôle qu’il tient.

**Site du MIT : HyperStudio

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre