Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Collaborative translation

Project leaders:
Anthony Cordingley
Céline Frigau Manning

In collaboration with:
IATIS
ITEM, multilingual team, Translation, Creation
Labex TransferS
Maison de l’Italie (Cité Universitaire Internationale)
Dublin City University

If translation is a necessary mediation in art as well as in everyday life, the conditions of its practice remain rarely questioned or explained. Going against the myth of the translator as unique author, this project intends to explore and put into perspective different aspects of collaborative translation as a creative activity part of a given institutional situation. The project also studies the influence and effects of digital technologies on translation practices. Based on the example of theater and digital literature, we will begin to make an inventory of new practices and we will illustrate it with a theoretical reflection on translator(s) know-how. This review and analysis work will go along with a collaborative digital device specifically conceived for theater translation.

Through the subject of "collaborative translations", we will discuss the relation between several phenomenon such as: cooperation between communities from different cultures in order to pass on knowledge, science and literature ; collaborations between authors and translators ; negotiations and compromises between a translator, a reviewer and a publisher ; the share of human contact and virtual exchanges.

**

The translation work thus appears as a perfect touchstone to explore different forms of cultural mediation, and the paradoxical destiny of the translated text: both necessary and impossible to finalize, with a constant need to be retranslated, in several languages and several writings, following the reflection Derrida started in his article on "Des tours de Babel".

Website & info

Our website: collaborativetranslation.labex-arts-h2h.fr

**

June 2014 : European meeting IATIS.

**

All our events are developed and organized in collaboration with professors and students from the master T3L.

The project relies on our team’s specific competences, which has been working in two fields that are strongly related to collaborative practices: theater translation and digital humanities. Being scholars as well as translators, we want to carry out a critical approach which will give rise to a short publication, translation workshops and a collaborative digital device dedicated to theater.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Traduction(s) collective(s)

Porteurs du projet :
Anthony Cordingley
Céline Frigau Manning

En collaboration avec :
IATIS
ITEM, équipe multilinguisme, Traduction, Création
Labex TransferS
Maison de l’Italie (Cité Universitaire Internationale)
Dublin City University

Si la traduction est une médiation essentielle, autant dans les arts que dans la vie quotidienne, les conditions dans lesquelles elle s’exerce sont rarement explicitées ou interrogées. À rebours du mythe du traducteur comme auteur unique, ce projet entend explorer et mettre en perspective les différentes facettes de la traduction collective, comme activité créatrice, engagée dans une situation institutionnelle donnée ; il étudiera également l’apport des technologies numériques et l’effet qu’elles ont sur la pratique de la traduction. À partir de l’exemple du théâtre et de la littérature numérique, nous engagerons un travail d’inventaire des pratiques nouvelles, et l’étaierons par une réflexion théorique sur l’art de faire du/des traducteurs. Ce travail d’analyse et de synthèse ira de pair avec la production d’un outil numérique collaboratif destiné spécifiquement à la traduction théâtrale.

Au travers de la thématique des « traductions collectives » nous reviendrons sur l’articulation entre des phénomènes comme la coopération entre communautés de cultures différentes pour la transmission de leurs savoirs, sciences et littératures ; les collaborations entre auteurs et traducteurs ; les échanges, les négociations et les compromis entre le traducteur, le relecteur et l’éditeur ; la part de la rencontre humaine et celle des échanges virtuels.


Le travail de traduction constitue ainsi une pierre de touche idéale pour explorer les différentes formes de médiations culturelles, entre collectif, collaboratif, coopératif, pluriel, de groupe ou d’équipe et le destin paradoxal du texte traduit, à la fois nécessaire, impossible à parachever et donc appelant continuellement à la retraduction, ouverte depuis toujours sur plusieurs langues et plusieurs écritures, dans la lignée de la réflexion engagée par Derrida dans son article sur « Des tours de Babel ».

Site web & infos

Notre site : collaborativetranslation.labex-arts-h2h.fr


Juin 2014 : rencontres européennes IATIS.
Tous nos événements sont conçus et organisés en collaboration avec l’équipe enseignante du master T3L et les étudiants.
Contacts : anthony.cordingley@univ-paris8.fr, celine.frigau@univ-paris8.fr

Le projet s’appuie sur les compétences spécifiques de notre équipe, qui travaille depuis plusieurs années déjà deux champs particulièrement marqués par les pratiques collectives, celui de la traduction de théâtre et celui des humanités numériques. Étant à la fois universitaires et traducteurs, nous souhaitons mener de front une approche critique, qui donnera lieu à une publication synthétique, et un travail d’expérimentation qui se traduira dans des ateliers de traduction et la conception d’un outil numérique collaboratif dédié au théâtre.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre