Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Transculturalities : performing arts and literature from contemporary India

One-day conference
Organized by Katia Légeret and Eliane Beaufils

Wednesday, May 28th 2014
9:30 am - 8:00 pm

University Paris 8
Amphi 4 bâtiment A
2 rue de la Liberté
93200 Saint-Denis
Metro Saint-Denis Université (line 13)


Why would we stage fables ? This one-day conference will be dedicated to a critical reflection on the aesthetical and political issues that come out of this contemporary art form related to theater, dance, music, marionnettes, poetry, street art and performative practices.


Participants are mainly professors-researchers and artists who came especially from India or who work in Europe on Indian theatrical forms. Around fifty first-year students of Paris 8, students from Theater studies and fom erasmus mundus program, PhD students at Paris 8 (EA 1573) and students from the CNSAD, will present danced performances and conferences. Panchatantra stories told in several Indian languages will be linked to the Fables of Jean de la Fontaine who was inspired by them. Transmission, practice and transformation of this traditional danced theater from India will show how fragile the concepts of physical, cultural and identity territories are.


We will question a set of boundaries : cultures in minority, cultural or postcolonial policies, aesthetical categories. Does staging animals and their bodily language, based on Indian theater codes, enables to express current social issues? How does theatricality, created by these gestural languages, produce new forms of alterity and gather these young artists and open up to new experimental fields such as yoga techniques or Body-Mind Centering (BMC)?

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Transculturalité(s) : art du spectacle vivant et littératures de l’Inde contemporaine

Journée d’étude
Organisée par Katia Légeret et Eliane Beaufils

Mercredi 28 mai 2014
De 9h30 à 20h

Université Paris 8
Amphi 4 bâtiment A
2 Rue de la Liberté
93200 Saint-Denis
Métro Saint-Denis Université (ligne 13)


Pourquoi mettre en scène aujourd’hui des fables animalières ? Cette journée de recherche sera consacrée à une réflexion critique sur les enjeux esthétiques et politiques de cette forme artistique contemporaine liée au théâtre, à la danse, à la musique, aux marionnettes, à la poésie, aux arts de la rue et aux pratiques performatives.


Les participants sont en grande partie des enseignants chercheurs et des artistes venus spécialement de l’Inde ou travaillant en Europe sur des formes théâtrales indiennes. Une cinquantaine d’étudiants en licence de Paris 8, en master théâtre et erasmus mundus, en doctorat de Paris 8 (EA 1573), avec la participation d’élèves du CNSAD, présenteront des mises en scène, des performances et des conférences dansées. Les histoires du Panchatantra racontées dans plusieurs langues indiennes seront reliées aux Fables de La Fontaine qui s’en est inspiré. La transmission, la pratique et la transformation du corpus des mouvements traditionnels de ces théâtres dansés de l’Inde montreront la fragilité des notions de territoires physiques, culturels et identitaires.


Il s’agira de questionner un ensemble de frontières : celles des cultures minoritaires, des politiques culturelles ou post-coloniales, et des catégories esthétiques. La mise en scène de l’animal et de son langage corporel, à partir des codes propres aux théâtres indiens permet-elle d’exprimer des problèmes actuels de société ? Comment la théâtralité créée par ces langages gestuels produit-elle de nouvelles formes d’altérité et rassemble-t-elle ces jeunes artistes chercheurs autour d’une esthétique de la résistance en ouvrant de nouveaux champs expérimentaux, par exemple à partir des techniques du yoga ou du Body-Mind Centering (BMC) ?

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre