Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

A governmental art? Public procurements by plastic artists (1945-1965)

Exhibition

March 31st - July 13th, 2017

Archives Nationales
59 rue Guynemer
93380 Pierrefitte-sur-Seine

Metro: Saint-Denis Université (line 13)


"The State cannot possibly have good taste. It would be a miracle if people handling funds that help painters had good taste", art dealer Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler declared in 1961. These words, a little provocative, echo common criticisms aimed at artworks promoted and subsidised by the State as soon as the 19th century, at a time when the Beaux-Arts administration seemed to support artistic practices considered too "academic", as well as impervious to the formal innovations of the time. In fact, this "art of State" has always been much more complex and versatile that it seemed at first, particularly at the end of World War II.


What initiated this exhibition of a new kind is precisely a wish to take a closer look at this prolific period of art history. Created in partnership with the CNAP (National Center for Plastic Arts), this exhibition aims to create a dialogue between administrative documents and artworks of study elements (models, sketches, ...) that preceded their realization.


Between 1945 and 1965, which marks the beginning of the new era of artistic decentralization and the end of the very old office of Art Works, more than 4 000 artworks were commissioned by the government to plastic artists and more than 11 000 were bought. This exhibition thus presents a selection from this good crop: the visitor will encounter famous painters and sculptors as well as less known or even forgotten ones.

The files exhibited present documents essential to the understanding of the different steps of the commissioning process : reports from beaux-arts inspectors, sketches, photographs of artworks completed or in progress. Thanks to a loan of artworks from the FNAC by the CNAP but also other institutions and lenders, the visitor will be able to appreciate the full extent of the administrative work.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

Un art d’État ? Commandes publiques aux artistes plasticiens (1945-1965)

Exposition

Du 31 mars au 13 juillet 2017

Archives Nationales
59 rue Guynemer
93380 Pierrefitte-sur-Seine

Métro : Saint-Denis Université (ligne 13)


« L’État ne peut pas avoir de goût. Ce serait un miracle que des gens qui disposent des fonds servant à aider les peintres aient du goût », déclarait le marchand Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler en 1961. Ces propos, un brin provocateurs, font écho aux critiques fréquentes dont l’art à la fois promu et subventionné par l’État fut l’objet dès le xixe siècle, à une époque où l’administration des Beaux-Arts semblait favoriser un art jugé par trop « académique », aussi bien qu’hermétique aux innovations formelles de son temps. En réalité, cet « art d’État » a toujours été bien plus complexe et multiple qu’il n’a pu paraître de prime abord, en particulier au sortir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.


C’est précisément la volonté d’examiner de plus près cette période foisonnante de l’histoire de l’art qui a présidé à la conception de cette exposition d’un genre nouveau, réalisée en partenariat avec le Centre national des arts plastiques (Cnap), visant à faire dialoguer les documents administratifs avec les œuvres ou avec les éléments d’études (maquettes, esquisses, plâtres, etc.) ayant précédé leur réalisation.


Entre 1945 et 1965, qui marque l’entrée dans l’ère nouvelle de la décentralisation artistique et la disparition du très ancien bureau des Travaux d’art, plus de 4 000 œuvres sont commandées par l’État à des artistes plasticiens, et plus de 11 000 œuvres sont achetées. L’exposition présente donc une sélection parmi cette moisson fertile, au gré de laquelle le visiteur rencontrera aussi bien des noms de peintres et de sculpteurs célèbres que des artistes moins connus ou tombés dans l’oubli.

Riches des rapports d’inspecteurs des beaux-arts, de correspondance, d’esquisses, de photographies des œuvres achevées ou en cours d’élaboration, les dossiers exposés présentent les documents essentiels à l’appréhension des différentes étapes du processus de commande. Grâce au prêt d’œuvres provenant des collections du Fonds national d’art contemporain (Fnac) par le Cnap mais également d’autres institutions et prêteurs, l’aboutissement du travail administratif est donné à voir au visiteur dans toute son ampleur.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre