Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Legal Notice

Video all against television

Research seminar organized by Hélène Fleckinger

May 5th 2014

5:30 PM until 8:00 PM

BnF site Richelieu
Salle des commissions
5 rue Vivienne
75002 Paris
Metro Bourse, Pyramides, Palais Royal


The research seminar "Video des premiers temps" intends to explore a field that has never really been studied. As soon as it became "light" (meaning that equipment is available to anyone) more than forty years ago, video technique led to many different uses, social and creative uses that we do not separate (on one hand activist video, on the other hand art video) as they all take on an experimental part.


"Light" video appeared when theorical and critical schools of thought on mass media, and was contructed "contre la télévision, tout contre" (against television, all against), according to a quote from Jean-Paul Fargier as far as the device (lightness vs heaviness) and the ideological message (dismantling, counter-information and right of reply) are concerned.


This session will question coexistence and confrontation betweent TV and VT (video tape) through the career of two directors who evolved within and outside of the television institution :
> Bernard Baissat entered the ORTF in 1966 and actively took part in creating experimental TV programs in Niger, Côte d’Ivoire and Lebanon and witnessed oppostion to light video being introduced in French television in the 1970s.
>In charge of the audiovisual department of the Centre d’action culturelle d’Orléans et du Loiret, Pierre Müller directed several videos of information, advertisement and television critique, especially Fait divers (1977), subtitled autopsy of a tv coverage.

Labex Arts-H2H

The Laboratory of Excellence in Arts and Human Mediations is part of the “Investments for the future” program since 2011. As part of this program, its members conduct research following three main lines: situations, technologies, hybridization.

Follow us

Université Paris 8
2 Rue de la Liberté, 93526 Saint-Denis

© Labex Arts-H2H | Mentions légales

La vidéo contre la télévision, tout contre

Séminaire de recherche organisé par Hélène Fleckinger

Lundi 5 mai 2014

De 17h30 à 20h

BnF site Richelieu
Salle des commissions
5 rue Vivienne
75002 Paris
Métro Bourses, Pyramides, Palais Royal


Le séminaire du groupe de recherche « Vidéo des premiers temps » se propose d’explorer un domaine qui reste à ce jour peu étudié. Dès lors qu’elle est devenue « légère », il y a plus de quarante ans, la technique vidéo a donné lieu à des appropriations diverses, à des usages sociaux et créatifs qu’il convient certainement de ne pas dissocier d’emblée (d’un côté la vidéo militante, de l’autre l’art vidéo) tant ils revêtent les uns et les autres un caractère expérimental.


Apparue tandis que se développaient des courants de réflexion théorique et critique sur les médias de masse, la vidéo légère s’est construite « contre la télévision, tout contre », selon une formule de Jean-Paul Fargier, tant du point de vue du dispositif (légèreté vs lourdeur) que du message idéologique (démontage, contre-information et droit de réponse).


Cette séance du séminaire propose d’interroger les modalités de coexistence et de confrontation entre « TV » et « VT » (video tape) à travers le parcours de deux réalisateurs ayant évolué dans et hors de l’institution télévisuelle :
> Entré à l’ORTF en 1966, Bernard Baissat a participé activement à la conception de programmes de télévision expérimentaux au Niger, en Côte d’Ivoire et au Liban et a été le témoin des résistances face à l’introduction de la vidéo légère à la télévision française dans les années 1970 ;
>Responsable du secteur audiovisuel du Centre d’action culturelle d’Orléans et du Loiret, Pierre Müller a réalisé plusieurs bandes vidéo de lecture critique de l’information et de la publicité à la télévision, en particulier Fait divers (1977), sous-titrée Autopsie d’un reportage télévisé.

Labex Arts-H2H

Le Laboratoire d’excellence des arts et médiations humaines est lauréat des Investissements d’avenir depuis 2011. Dans ce cadre, les membres développent des recherches selon trois axes majeurs : situations, technologies, hybridations.

Nous suivre